LGBT Rights

Anti-discrimination Ordinances


Twenty-nine Ohio cities and counties now have anti-discrimination ordinances. Eleven of these fully protect individuals from discrimination in employment and housing based on sexual orientation and gender identity. In addition the State of Ohio protects its workers from discrimination based on sexual orientation, but not gender identity.

The following Ohio cities and counties have an LGB or LGBT anti-discrimination ordinance that protects all individuals from discrimination: Akron*, Athens*, Bowling Green*, Canton, Cincinnati*, Cleveland*, Cleveland Heights, Columbus*, Dayton*, East Cleveland*, Lakewood, North Olmsted, Oberlin, Oxford*, Shaker Heights, Toledo*, and Yellow Springs*.

The following cities and counties have protections for city or county employees only: Cuyahoga County, Cuyahoga Falls, Franklin County, Gahanna, Hamilton, Hamilton County, Laura, Lima, Lucas County, Montgomery County, Summit County, and Wood County.

We have come a long way in the fight for equal rights for LGBT people in this country. However, there are still several basic protections that are missing – like protections in housing, public accommodations, and employment. It is time for Ohio’s legislators to protect people from discrimination, including people who are gay or transgender, by updating our laws. Because what this is really about is about treating people as we want to be treated.

* Indicates that the ordinance provides full protections from discrimination in employment and housing based on gender identity and sexual orientation. More information about the protections offered in each area is available here.