We have come a long way in the fight for equal rights for LGBTQ people in this country. Ohio law protects state employees from discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity. But private citizens lack many basic protections in housing, public accommodations, and employment. It’s time for Ohio’s legislators to update our laws. No one should be fired, evicted, or denied service because of who they are or who they love.

In the absence of statewide protections, 26 cities and counties in Ohio have passed comprehensive protections, banning any LGBTQ discrimination (sexual orientation or gender identity) in employment, housing, and public accommodations. They are: Akron, Athens, Beachwood, Bexley, Bowling Green, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Cleveland Heights, Columbus, Coshocton, Cuyahoga County, Dayton, East Cleveland, Kent, Lakewood, Medina, Newark, Olmsted Falls, Oxford, Sandusky, Shaker Heights, South Euclid, Toledo, Worthington, Yellow Springs, and Youngstown.

Additionally, Canton protects LGBTQ individuals in employment and housing only, and Oberlin in housing only.

Several additional cities and counties have protections for city or county employees only: Cuyahoga Falls, Franklin County, Gahanna, Hamilton, Hamilton County, Laura, Lima, Lucas County, Montgomery County, Summit County, and Wood County.

View Equality Ohio’s website for more information about the protections offered in each area.