Ohio does not have a statewide law that protects LGBTQ people from discrimination. This means many LGBTQ Ohioans can be fired from their job, denied housing, asked to leave a public facility, or denied access to the appropriate restroom. Unfortunately, the Ohio legislature has been voting down LGBTQ nondiscrimination bills for the past twenty years.

Public accommodations are important! This term refers to spaces, whether privately or publicly owned, that are open to the public, such as movie theaters, hotels, restaurants and bars. The ACLU of Ohio believes that allowing transgender individuals to use the restroom that matches their gender identity is crucial to their safety and well-being.

Learn more about Ohio Business Competes, a coalition of businesses committed to LGBTQ-inclusive nondiscrimination protections at the state level.

As of November 1, 2023, the following 36 cities and counties in Ohio have passed local ordinances banning any LGBTQ discrimination (sexual orientation or gender identity) in employment, housing, and public accommodations. They are: Akron, Athens, Beachwood, Bexley, Bowling Green, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Cleveland Heights, Columbus, Coshocton, Cuyahoga County, Dayton, Dublin, East Cleveland, Galion, Gambier, Golf Manor, Kent, Lakewood, Medina, Newark, Norwood, Oberlin, Olmsted Falls, Oxford, Portsmouth, Reynoldsburg, Sandusky, Shaker Heights, South Euclid, Toledo, University Heights, Westerville, Worthington, Yellow Springs, and Youngstown.

Check out Equality Ohio’s Municipal Equality Map for more information on local nondiscrimination protections.


DISCLAIMER – The information on this website is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. Every case depends on the specific facts and circumstances involved. To submit a complaint for review, please go to our Legal Help page.